Christmas Bird Count

photo of a Snowy Owl

Christmas Bird Counts (CBCs) are annual winter bird censuses conducted by volunteers between mid-December and early January.

Historically, this tradition involved competitions to see who could kill the most birds, but in 1900, at the urging of the Audubon Society, observers began to count birds instead. This practice has spread, and such opportunities for enjoying a day of birding and contributing to ornithological research abound in our area.

Counts cover a circular territory having a 15 mile (24 kilometer) diameter, with small parties covering assigned areas within the circle over a 24 hour time period. Until recently, observers were asked to submit a nominal fee to cover the costs of data compilation and publication.

Below is a listing of the CBCs held within the BOS coverage area and is updated annually with the specific dates, compiler contact information, and details for those who may wish to participate. Contact a compiler for a CBC and get outside for a day of holiday birding!

View a map of the active Audubon CBC circles here: CBC Circles »



2021 CBC Schedule:

Date Count Compiler(s) Center Point / Details
Dec. 18, 2021
Saturday
Beaver Meadow CBC Tom Kerr
  tom@buffaloaudubon.org
  Beaver Meadow 585-457-3228 Tues - Sat
Java, NY
Start time is 8 AM
Dec. 18, 2021
Saturday
Scio CBC Ken Reichman
  ken@candlewiz.com
  607-356-3193
Dec. 18, 2021
Saturday
Wilson-Lake Plains CBC Joel Strong
  joelstrong78@yahoo.com
  727-519-4043
Wilson, NY

Wilson-Lake Plains CBC: Google Map Link »
Dec. 19, 2021
Sunday
Buffalo Ornithological Society CBC David Gordon
  dgordonphoto@yahoo.com
  716-390-1429
Grand Island, NY

BOS CBC: Google Map Link »
Dec. 19, 2021
Sunday
Jamestown CBC Bill Seleen
  wseleen@stny.rr.com
  home: 716-386-3209  , cell: 716-499-4204
Jamestown, NY
NO compilation meeting this year.
Dec. 19, 2021
Sunday
St. Bonaventure CBC Regina M. VanScoy
  vanscoy716@outlook.com
  716-925-7109
Dec. 19, 2021
Sunday
St. Catharines CBC Bob Highcock / Jean Hampson
  bob.jean@sympatico.ca
  home: 905-688-1260, cell: 905-327-5457
St. Catharines, ON
Dec. 26, 2021
Sunday
Granger-Hunt CBC Matt Nusstein
  matthew.nusstein@parks.ny.gov
  716-446-3376
Granger, NY
This circle covers a large area of
Section 19 in the BOS Study Region.
Call Matt to volunteer!
Dec. 26, 2021
Sunday
Hamburg-East Aurora CBC Tom O'Donnell
  tmodonnell@roadrunner.com
  716-284-5569
Hamburg-E. Aurora, NY
Dec. 27, 2021
Monday
Niagara Falls (ON/NY) CBC Marcie Jacklin for Ontario
  mjacklin@brocku.ca
  905-871-2577

Willie D'Anna for NYS
  dannapotter@roadrunner.com
  716-751-3637
Niagara Falls, NY & ON
Dec. 28, 2021
Tuesday
Oak Orchard CBC Celeste Morien
  celeste.morien@gmail.com
  585-721-8202
Alabama, NY
Jan. 1, 2022
Saturday
Dunkirk-Fredonia CBC Joanne Goetz
  goetz@netsync.net
  716-673-1627
Dunkirk-Fredonia, NY
Jan. 1, 2022
Saturday
Port Colborne CBC Drew Campbell
  drew.campbell@gm.com or drewcampbell@roadrunner.com
  716-668-0759 or cell 812-797-6679
Port Colborne, ON
photo of King Eider and Ring-billed Gullsphoto of Common Redpoll